Home > Recipes > Happy Pi Day

Happy Pi Day

In honor of Pi Day (3/14) I made one of my favorite — but also, importantly, one of my kids’ favorite — foods, broccoli quiche.

Broccoli Quiche

Pi Day Broccoli Quiche

I’ve heard of mythological children somewhere who make a face at broccoli, but it’s one of those foods that all three of my boys have always enjoyed enthusiastically, making it my go-to veggie when I’m feeling the need to get some deep green goodness into their growing bodies. It’s the non-meat pizza topping of choice, sometimes with black olives (the only one who won’t eat the olives will chow down on the pepperoni pie that I usually get to appease the ominvores). They like it the way my mom prepares it with garlic, olive oil and balsamic vinegar. I’ve already written about the crowd-pleasing properties of my Tofu Broccoli Stir Fry. They’ll even gobble it up steamed with a little salt.

But as much as they like all these, my broccoli and cheddar quiche seems to get the most “yays!” when they find out I’m making it. I like it because I can get nearly all the cleanup done in advance. Also, because the veggies are inside, it makes a side dish optional, though tonight I served it with steamed carrots and garlic bread. I also got a peach pie just to be extra celebratory.

My recipe is adapted from Mollie Katzen’s famous Moosewood Cookbook and its sequel The Enchanted Broccoli Forest (which, interestingly enough, I’ve never prepared). I don’t make my own pie crusts; I probably could but I’d rather avoid the time, work and mess for something that would never come out as good as the boughten kind anyway.

Broccoli and Cheddar Quiche

2 pre-made deep-dish pie crusts
2 medium crowns of broccoli, cut into small pieces
8 ounces sharp cheddar, shredded
6 eggs
2 cups milk
4 Tbsp flour
1/2 tsp. mustard powder
1 tsp salt
1 small clove garlic, crushed
juice of 1/2 lemon
paprika

Preheat the over to 375 degrees. Steam the broccoli until it’s bright green and gives some resistance when you try to pierce it with a fork.

Line the bottom of the pie shells with the cheese.

To make the custard, whisk together all the rest of the ingredients except for the paprika. When the broccoli’s done, add half to each pie shell, and then cover each with the custard. Dust the tops with paprika and bake for 40 to 45 minutes, until the middle is firm. Let the quiches set for ten minutes before cutting.

Happy Pi Day!

Categories: Recipes Tags: , ,
  1. March 14, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    Snarky approves like Clooney and Harrison.

  1. April 26, 2010 at 6:55 pm

Leave a Reply

