Home > Essays > NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo

crossposted at Snarky’s Machine

For several years I’ve considered doing NaNoWriMo. This year I’m going to.

Talking about it with Snarky last night got my juices going. But she’s a writer, she writes all the time (as an aside, I just learned that Nabokov used to write his novels on index cards, I am so keeping the “choose your own ending” story on index cards she gave me earlier this month, for when she’s rich and famous). I tend to dither and edit, a lot of my writing is either computer code or poetry — which I think are pretty similar in a lot of respects, in that they tend to be rather precise and focused and impossible to make sense out of even when they work perfectly.

Anyway, I decided to conduct a test. I started a new Word document and scribbled three lines that had come to me lately. One while walking out the door a few days ago. One based on a comment I made to a friend’s Facecrack entry. And one that I thought of while getting my second cup of coffee. I didn’t give them much thought or editing (not nearly as much as I’ve given this entry, which isn’t saying a lot).

Then I did a word count (drumroll please)… 80 words.

I copied those words and pasted them 19 times to get 1600 words, a bit less than what I’d need to do every day to get to the target of 50,000 words in November. About 5 pages with the generous margins and font size that are my defaults.

Five pages a day. I can do this.

Categories: Essays Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

