Home > Nonsense > Failow Your Bliss

Failow Your Bliss

I didn’t think I needed Twitter.

Facebook was doing a good job keeping me up to date on my friend’s lives. But ever since keeping my Facebook feeds clear of quiz results, horoscopes and zombies became more strenuous than weeding my Farmville* plot, I started turning to Twitter for the no-frills approach to finding out what’s moving and shaking the people whose opinions I really care about.

But it wasn’t until the whole Jesse James and Sandra Bullock situation that I realized the value of twitter as a forensic tool. When did Michelle “Bombshell” McGee start following Jesse James (whose Twitter, frankyluckman, has been deactivated, probably on the sage advice of the lawyer who suggested he check into racism rehab, and told the media that the Nazi paraphernalia was a gift from his Jewish godfather) and vice versa?

I admit it, I found myself rubbernecking past the public posts of people who I decidedly would never friend on Facebook. It’s just a matter of time before I decide to follow one of them. But I think I’d feel better about it if Twitter offered a new category. I think they should call it failow, a term I (according to Google and, more importantly, Urban Dictionary) just coined:

failow v. to follow (for example, on Twitter) someone you disdain in order to witness their contemptible behavior.

What do you think? And more importantly who would (or do) you failow?

* just kidding, I don’t do Farmville, I don’t even know if you have to do weeding there.

Categories: Nonsense Tags:
  1. msjacks
    April 4, 2010 at 10:32 am | #1

    Ha! This would be hilarious! I have had plenty of people on my Twitter feed who I’m embarrassed to have in my little box of pictures: Lindsey Lohan, Britney Spears… someone like Bombshell McGee, I’m afraid, would be TOO embarrassing. Hence, a Failow Feed would be perfection.

    • April 4, 2010 at 10:59 am | #2

      My grandfather worked in the NYC sewers so I’ve always had a great respect for the people who are willing to get slimy for the greater good.

  2. araymondjohnson
    April 4, 2010 at 10:47 am | #3

    I like this concept of “failow”, and I practice a variation of this, where I follow people who irritate me, not just to stay informed, but because the irritation is slightly pleasurable. Which is why I follow both Demi Moore and Wil Wheaton on twitter!

    • April 4, 2010 at 11:19 am | #4

      I’m such a geek I thought it was cool to be following Wil Wheaton,

      • araymondjohnson
        April 5, 2010 at 5:44 pm | #5

        If you are a geek, it is, but I’m not exactly a geek. I have a like/annoy relationship with the guy, where I’m actually more into him for Star Trek reasons!

  3. April 4, 2010 at 11:17 am | #6

    Which is why I follow both Demi Moore and Wil Wheaton on twitter!

    Ha! So true. I have also failowed them for the same reason.

    • April 4, 2010 at 4:03 pm | #7

      I’ve always found Demi Moore to be one of the hottest stars I can’t stand.

    • hsofia
      April 16, 2010 at 1:44 am | #8

      Oh my god, I had to unfollow Wil because I couldn’t deal with his 20 posts a day: “I’m eating a burrito while watching that episode of Guild that I’m in!”

  4. April 4, 2010 at 1:55 pm | #9

    I don’t follow more than say, three people who don’t follow me because it upsets my following/follower balance and makes me look less like i’m too cool to follow everyone who follows me. so following celebs is a no can do.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

